Man o' War breezing at Saratoga.

 American Champions including Eclipse Award winners

1935-current Descended from Man o' War


Here is the list of American Champions since 1935.  Those champions from 1936-1978 were decided by the Thoroughbred Racing Associations of America and the Daily Racing Form, who each published their own opinion of annual champions.  Since this method often chose multiple champions for individual categories, it was replaced in 1971.  The Eclipse Awards, which are selected by National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB), has supplanted the older system. 'The Blood Horse' combined to two to get a master list from 1935 onward.

You will need to scroll or swipe to see all the information.  It was decided to keep the document full-sized (and wide) to keep it readable.

Horses in orange are descendants of Man o' War. If you'd like to check on any horse's pedigree, click here:

Along with the list of Consensus American Historical Champions, there are two more lists available by clicking the appropriate buttons above.  American classic winners are listed.  A list of the Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Fame inductees and the Top Racehorses of the 20th Century according to various polls. are also included.  Again, all horses marked in orange are descendants of Man o' War.